12 Hour Slumber

12 Hour Slumber

12 hour slumber, you make me wonder

Where all the time went as 6 PM rolls by

Rested, tested, and aware, still glued to my chair, I stare

Through a tinted window into a chilly fall sunset past.

What will tonight bring? It’s breakfast time.

I dream about things.

Sleeping on the floor in someone’s living room, they appear irritated at my way

And even though I stay, I feel a familiar burden on a now distant friend

Once again.

These sighs of twilight bright, lit dreams of fireflies into the night

Once more, as 6 PM rolls by

And I wonder

What’s for breakfast

And what will I do next.

#Non24

Leave a Reply

